2018 IceCube Masterclass



The fifth edition of the Icecube Masterclass will take place on March 7 and 8, 2018. Nineteen IceCube institutions will host a masterclass in 2018.
Please write to masterclass@icecube.wisc.edu if you would like to receive further information about this program.
Find below the institutions that are hosting a masterclass on each date.
On March 7, 2018 an IceCube Masterclass will be held at:
  • Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) in Zeuthen, Germany
  • Erlangen Centre of Astroparticle Physics (ECAP, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nümberg), Germany
  • Michigan State University in East Lansing, MI
  • Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Ohio State University in Columbus, OH
  • RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City, SD
  • Universität Mainz, Germany
  • Universität Münster, Germany
  • University of Alabama in Tuscalosa, AL
  • University of Delaware in Newark, DE
  • University of Rochester, NY
  • University of Wisconsin- River Falls, WI
  • WIPAC at University of Wisconsin–Madison, WI
On March 8, 2018 an IceCube Masterclass will be held at:
  • Université de Genéve, Switzerland
On March 10, 2018 an IceCube Masterclass will be held at:
  • University of North Florida in Jacksonville, FL
On March 14, 2018 an IceCube Masterclass will be held at:
  • Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Registration to attend the masterclass is free but mandatory. Every participant must be registered by a teacher from his/her school (see teachers section). Participation is limited to 20 to 40 students, depending on the site, and teachers are encouraged to submit student registration starting on December 14, 2017.

High school students need only a genuine interest in physics in order to participate, but keep in mind that the masterclass content targets sophomore students and above.